Mbale Youth leaders demonstrate over delayed city status


Police in Mbale District have  today arrested 11 youth leaders who were participating in demonstration to protest a Cabinet decision to postpone the elevation of Mbale Municipality to city status until 2021.

Mbale was among the 15 cities that were recently approved as regional cities but it was not included in the first lot of cities that will be elevated to city status by 2020.

Municipal council that will become cities by 2020 are Arua, Gulu, Jinja, Fort Portal and Mbarara.

The detained youth leaders are; Mr Yassin Kawanguzi, the deputy speaker of Mbale Municipality; Mr Kassim Madagi, a councillor for Mbale municipality; Mr Yahaya Mwanje, the Mbale youth council chairperson and Mr Abdallah Magambo, the People Power youth leader in Bugisu sub-region.

Others are  Mr Nelly Mukasa, former Nauyo Bugema Town Council mayoral aspirant;  Mr Hamisi Bukonde and Mr Sam Kimaka.

They were arrested near the Mbale town Clock Tower as they led a procession to the Office of Resident District Commissioner (RDC) to present their grievances over government’s failure to list Mbale as one of the towns whose city status will be operationalised in July, 2020.

This post has been seen 1886 times.

Related posts